Select Page

Today we honor and uplift that this territory is home to the original stewards and guardians of Chicago-land: the Miami, Oceti Sakowin (“Oh-chey-tee Sha-koh-ween”), Kickapoo, Peoria, Ojibwe, Odawa, and Potawatomi Nations. The alliance of the Ojibwe, Odawa, and Potawatomi Nations is known as The Council of Three Fires, first formed in the year 796 of the common era at Mishimikinaak, also known as Mackinac Island, in Michigan. These peoples did, and do still exist. We thank them for their continuing leadership. Without their committed stewardship, we would not be enjoying this place today.