Today we honor and uplift that this territory is home to the original stewards and guardians of Chicago-land: the Ojibwe, Odawa, and Potawatomi Nations. Their alliance is known as The Council of Three Fires, first formed in the year 796 of the common era at Mishimikinaak, also known as Mackinac Island, in Michigan. These peoples did, and do still exist. Without their committed stewardship, we would not be enjoying this place today.